teacher's logo: please help me.

Discussion in 'Help wanted with my design' started by jands, Sep 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jands

jands

Hi all,

I'm an English teacher in China and am trying to create a fun logo to go on a business card and my original teaching material.

I want to show 3 elements: my name, my qualifications (in Chinese), and my caricature (bought from draw-me.com).

My main problem is that everything I design is more like a complete business card, not a logo. The 3 main elements do not seem to connect.

I have tried badges and I have tried displaying the Chinese text horizontally and vertically.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Attached Files:

2. Chris

Chris Staff Member

Hope you don't mind but I borrowed your images to try and help you out. Here is what I came up with. Hope this helps you get some ideas.

3. Borpean

Borpean Staff Member

Jands,
    That's a tough one since the chinese characters are so long.
    I'm not sure how you can do this on your end, but maybe you can have your caricature sit ontop of your name. The Drawing is sitting ontop of "Thom". I say this because it looks like you have the ability to knock out the chalkboard? Did you do this? If you can isolate the body from the elements you might be able to place the images into a logo look instead of a business card.

If you can't knock out the desk, place "Thom Richardson" infront of the legs and desk (while make a white outline around the text). Laying out the Chinese characters along the bottom or along the side (which is proper?), will compact the images rather than be spread out all over the place.
    Also, I would use the orange "thom" font and not the slanted green font.

Are you an English teacher and a musician? Does "draw-me" have stock poses/images? And the guitar image was close to what you do? Just curious to know why the guitar is in there or if you teach music as well.