problem with osx capitan

Discussion in 'Questions or troubles updating' started by rrs, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. rrs

    rrs

    Messages:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I use thelogocreator on mac, I upgraded to the beta of OSX captain and the program does not work correctly, moving images in does not respond well and the image is moved elsewhere canvas.
    I mention this for soi someone else feels the same, and if you can somehow fix
     
  2. KD-did

    KD-did

    Messages:
    8,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Have you done a "Repair Disc Permissions"....always a good idea after upgrades and when don't exactly run smooth.

    I know on my machine there seems to be a pause right things appear to be moved on my PC...it is like the machine needs to think. I have noticed the same situation with graphic applications on my MAC. But I am not up to date as you are.
     
  3. John Griffith

    John Griffith

    Messages:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    OK.. I need help. Upgraded my iMac to el Capitan. I can get Logos to open, but if I try to import a JPG, the program shuts down. Any suggestions??
     
  4. KD-did

    KD-did

    Messages:
    8,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Try changing it to read .jpg instead of .JPG.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2015
  5. John Griffith

    John Griffith

    Messages:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    ???? I am sorry...brain not working...what am I supposed to try??
     
  6. KD-did

    KD-did

    Messages:
    8,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Change file name to be.jpg NOT .JPG... it maybe a case sensitive situation.

    There was a situation where PNGs wouldn't be shown but png would.
     
  7. John Griffith

    John Griffith

    Messages:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    It is named that....when I click the import jpg file in the software, thats when it shuts down. It doesn't allow me to go to a directory to select a photo
     
  8. KD-did

    KD-did

    Messages:
    8,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Perhaps the file is not at the same level. Move the file to desktop or to a thumbdrive and see if that helps.
     
  9. John Griffith

    John Griffith

    Messages:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Logos will not allow me to get past selecting Import jpg. I go to the pulldown menu edit, click on import jpg and it shuts down.
     
  10. KD-did

    KD-did

    Messages:
    8,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    The pull down menu is for stuff in the Laughingbird Documents folder... They should be in a named folder that is within in the Logo Elements folder. Loose files are a no go.
    Usually those folders images are .pngs and not jpg / Regular stuff like from the internet,phone or USB are imported from their location.

    Look at file name, TLC doesn't like characters (dash,underscore, # and etc). It simply doesn't understand those characters.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2015
  11. KD-did

    KD-did

    Messages:
    8,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
  12. gunsmoke

    gunsmoke

    Messages:
    948
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    What Katie was trying to explain is that you can try and rename the file from .JPG to a .jpg ( lower case extension.)
    You DO NOT use The Logo Creator to rename files like that. I'm using a PC so I cannot advise you on how to do it on a Mac, but there should be a way to rename the file and insure that it is a lower case.

    Plan 'B' would be that you could convert your jpg image to a png and then it would work.

    As far as 'shutting down' when clicking the option to import a jpg, that sounds like a Mac issue. Never heard of that happening before but if you just upgraded then it may be something new. Have you tried shutting down and restarting your computer and see if it still does it? That works sometimes on a PC...not sure about Macs.
     
  13. KD-did

    KD-did

    Messages:
    8,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    A short video showing your process could help solve the issue.
     
  14. gcuneo2

    gcuneo2

    Messages:
    1,265
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    I will type slow. Uninstall, Reinstall.
     
  15. John Griffith

    John Griffith

    Messages:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    It will not allow me top upload a .mov file
     
  16. KD-did

    KD-did

    Messages:
    8,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Did you try doing a reinstall? Did you do a "REPAIR" of permissions?

    Post where it will show and give us a link.

    Or try attaching it as a zipped file.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2015
  17. gunsmoke

    gunsmoke

    Messages:
    948
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    If you do not know how to post the .mov and share the link, you may upload it to my sharebox and I will share it with KD-did and Glenn.

    http://gunsmoke.me/sharebox

    Select username: Free Downloads
    Password: free

    Toward the bottom of the screen is an option to upload files to my dropbox. Upload you .mov there and we'll get back to you.
     
  18. John Griffith

    John Griffith

    Messages:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    OK...I removed Logos from the computer and reinstalled and it works. However I know longer have the backgrounds and lines shapes in the toolbox????
     
  19. KD-did

    KD-did

    Messages:
    8,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    For both Mac and Window downloads (http://tinyurl.com/new-shapes-Win)

    Unzip the attached shapes file and paste it into the Logo Elements folder. The file will work in the programs drop down menu even though it is not a "db" file.

    Look for a file called textures and backgrounds db in the Logo Elements folder.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2015
  20. John Griffith

    John Griffith

    Messages:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Is this the folder I need to paste it in??
    Screen Shot 2015-11-22 at 9.21.04 AM.png
     

Share This Page