My name is Marc

Discussion in 'Introduce yourself!' started by Mr Laughingbird, Apr 25, 2005.

1. Mr Laughingbird

Mr Laughingbird Staff Member

My name is Marc Sylvester.
    I'm the creator of The Logo Creator and Laughingbird Software. I have a 6 year old daughter, and 4 year old twin boys.

I've been a graphic designer since 1984 and have been online since 1996! I went to a design school in San Diego California (where I grew up) and moved north to L.A. when I was married in '92.

In 1995, the company I was working for - a very small company - went belly up. The company had a terrific idea at the time. To put large TV monitors in every other isle of a supermarket store. These TVs would show commercials! (What better placement than to see a "Crest toothpaste" commercial while you were in the Toothpaste isle!).

I was in charge of the 'in between' animations, trivia questions, funny slogans ... that were to be played between commercials so viewers wouldn't get bored.

Unfortunatly, the company didn't succeed. But, from my experience, I knew I wanted to be my own boss and start my own company.

Shortly after, I began teaching multimedia ( a Macromedia Director class) at a tech school. This was 1995. One day, I thought it would be interesting to surf this new thing called the Internet. I surfed it using Netscape Navigator in front of the class. We all fell in love with it and - mostly - all of us are STILL online to this day!

I started designing logos for others on the net. I charged a $99 flat rate for each logo. Other designers at the time were charging by the hour. I made a point to tell my clients that, no matter how long I worked on the logo, it would be $99. It was a hit. (Always make it easy on the end user!)

A year later, I raised my prices to $299. Then, in 1999, I raised my prices to $499 per logo. Always charging the flat rate.