Mascot stumper

Discussion in 'Resource & Recommendations' started by Borpean, May 11, 2005.

1. Borpean

Borpean Staff Member

Hi all

My name is David Sylvester (Same as the laughingbird...not the cat :)).
    I'm the artist and creator of the mascots in The Mascot Edition as well as custom made mascots.
    I am interested to know what types of Mascots people would like to see more of or what kind of mascot, that's not out there, you would like to see.

Any input would be great. A couple of the forum members have already inputed their thoughts or ideas (which are noted!) My custom work has overwhelmed me and I am trying to display ready made mascots as quick as I can, but some public feedback, comments or suggestions would be great.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. :D
    Best regards,
    -Dave

2. Texas

Texas

Suggestion For Mascots

I am NOT an artist, but I have had SEVERAL request for some kind of Mascots that DON'T appear to be so cartoonee (is that a word)? They like the idea of some kind of Mascot, they were just afraid of cartoons. Some of the request I have had were:

1. Something powerful - even mysterious
    2. Something scary - but not a cartoon

I hope this helps & I hope it makes sense. I like the Mascots, but the people that wanted logos were afraid the cartoon type characters would cheapen their site.

Thanks for your great work!

3. Flotsom

Flotsom

More imposing

Dave,

I think Mascots are almost cartoon by definition, however having said that I would add that they don't necessarily have to be comical, though that is certainly the most common. Examples would be the sports mascots you see in MLB, Football, Hockey, etc. Most of those are semi-comical or at least caricature in nature.