I need help loading the files to my server

Discussion in 'The Flash Ad Creator' started by danisa96, Jan 24, 2006.

1. danisa96

danisa96

:helpnow:

The server that I am using has 'insert flash' as an option. I loaded swf file as well as the items on my asset folder.

When I hit insert flash it only inserts the flash without the data that I included.

I am new at this and have no clue what is going on.

Would greatly appreciate your advise.

Larisa

2. Mr Laughingbird

Mr Laughingbird Staff Member

Hi Larisa.
    Welcome to the forum!

As I type this - we are in the process of finishing up a "Stand alone .swf output" feature. This will allow you to simply take your .swf (Flash file) and not have to worry about the Assets folder.

In the meantime, you'll have to worry about it :)

Does the Ad play for you with no problems on your desktop (when you preview the ad) ?

In programs like the Yahoo page builder, it looks at your HTML code and uploads every image (or Flash file) that is "mentioned" in the code.

The unfortunate thing about the Assets folder is that it's not mentioned anywhere in the HTML - so Yahoo doesn't know it exists!

So, you'll have to upload the assets folder manually.

I hear you screaming. :) Don't worry.
    ... there's got to be a way.

I don't know much about the Yahoo page builder, but there's got to be a way for it to allow you to select a folder full of photos (which is basically what the Assets folder is) and upload it to the server.

Do you see any way of doing this?

You also might want to look at CuteFTP:
    http://www.cuteftp.com (for Windows). Mac users should use Transmit by Panic software (http://www.panic.com)

These two great programs allows you to simply click and drag files from your desktop to the server where your pages reside. If you're going to be doing anything on the web - especially building sites that use Flash - you'll need an FTP program.