Font 101: Learning Valuable Lessons.

Discussion in 'Introduce yourself!' started by mahvin, Aug 24, 2016.

1. mahvin

mahvin

Hello everyone, my name is Mahvin (Bostonian for Marvin). I live in the Pacific Northwest. I have been using Logo Creator for a few years now, but a recent upgrade to Windows 10 totally threw my partition into the pits of hell, never to be seen or heard from again. A reinstallation of Windows 10 seemed perfectly fine until I went to restore my Logo Creator software and it ran the gauntlet of error messages, improperly installed file locations and the works. So, long story short, I just bought the latest package for $47. And I'm back, hopefully.

I'm what you might consider in the business world, a model developer. I'm the guy who arranges the panels, with panes and images, placed in their proper order/location. I hand my work over to a panel of artists who apply the rest of the correct images to my model. Making sense? In a simpler analogy, I'm the guy who makes someone's idea look real, although not to scale. Like an architect who creates a foam model of a building and makes it look as realistic as possible. The artists are the creative end to my job.

Fonts. When using fonts on Logo Creator (those on your hard drive) at least make sure you know what the actual font is going to look like before you start typing it in. Get a font editor and open the glyphs so you can see and correct their imperfections, and save them as a new renamed font for use in Logo Creator. Lucky for me, all I had to do is clean up the actual letters I was using in the templates, and not the entire font file glyphs. That would have been a nightmare. I use FontForge, which works well on Windows 10, in case you're wondering. Keep in mind, what you see in small print will not be what you see when enlarged. Any stray artifacts and non-aliased edges will show up on Logo Creator when you increase the scale of the font.

2. gunsmoke

gunsmoke