Exporting

Discussion in 'New to the world of Forums?' started by radirckze, Mar 27, 2014.

1. radirckze

radirckze

I am new to Logo Creator. I have v6.6. I can save as to PNG but with that I cannot change the DPI. How do I change the DPI? Is there supposed to be an export function? (Mine does not have an export button.

2. gunsmoke

gunsmoke

You cannot change the DPI within the program. You can however change it after the export, if you really need to, by using Photoscape. Just Google it. It's a free utility that will let you adjust DPI. You do realize that DPI (or dots per Inch) only relates to printing, and not to the resolution of the picture on the screen? You may be wanting to make the PNG larger without losing resolution? For that you would need to get a vector file of your PNG. That will cost a little bit and you can find information about that on Google also.

An Admin posted a real good acticle on DPI here a few days ago but I can't seem to find it right now. Hopefully gcuneo2 will pop back in here and re-post. :D

3. gcuneo2

gcuneo2

Your output resolution is printer dependent. DPI and PPI are two terms used incorrectly, daily.

Problems rear up when resizing a smaller logo (lets say 500 x 500 pixels) to something that will appear on a poster for example. That 500 x 500 pixel dimension will give you 250,000 bytes of info to work with. At times customers have sent the thumbnail image image into a place like staples, not realizing the thumbnail is really small.

The business card templates print up beautifully because their template size is actually quite big, but the information used is printed up in the area the size of a business card.

People get nice results, at larger sizes, by vectorizing their images.

So your local place (like staples) loads your pix up you want printed at 11 x 17, THEIR SOFTWARE IS GOING TO TELL THEM THE PIX IS AT 72DPI-- IT IS THE DEFAULT VALUE OF THE SOFTWARE..