Coming Up With Ideas

Discussion in 'Raves and Rants' started by blackknight, May 5, 2005.

1. blackknight

blackknight

I just wanted to put my two cents in again. I drive for a living, 5 days a week and 12 hours a day ( nites) When I am in my vehicle I have alot of time on my hands in the evening so whenever I have slack time I sketch. I make little thumbnails not to create masterpieces but to give me a memory boost the next day when I create my logo on the computer. Part of my "technique" involves thinking up company names (this is all done before I even think of the logo design and I also try to think up slogan/taglines. I find that by thinking up a company name or industry/profession first it spurs my creativity and the ideas come alot faster when I have some background to go on. I don't know about what you all do but when I go shopping I am looking at the packaging and I make mental notes of good design that I see; and while driving I look for anything that catches my eye and it isn't always a sign or ad, sometimes I will see certain architechture on a building and I will get the idea from there. Sure, sometimes I get dry spells but that is my body telling me I need a rest. But overall I find that when you have a pencil in your hand it is telling the mind that you are prepared and ready to get into action. I can't say how many logos I have created by an idea I had the night before but just the habit of recording your thoughts keeps everything in sinc, otherwise I have a memory like a seave and the idea would get lost. Anyway, here is one logo I did by just thinking about "BEER" and making my little thumbnails until I get an idea I want to try out.
    Blackknight

Attached Files:

• 43.jpg
      43.jpg
      File size:
      65.6 KB
      Views:
  2. Flotsom

Flotsom

Neat logo, BlackKnight, and thanks for the insight! :)

3. KD-did

KD-did

Very nice logo and a great post.

4. Gravy

Gravy

Good info indeed.