Need Advice on WordPress Project

Discussion in 'Joomla and other Content Management Systems (CMS)' started by OldenGray, Dec 31, 2008.

1. OldenGray

Message Count:
    I am currently building a web site in Word Press. Really wanted to do it in Joomla, but for other reasons (like I'm still learning Joomla), I'm going with Word Press for the moment. I want to:
    1. Add a forum to this site. It's a historical family cemetery and the forum should be connected to the site somehow. Is there a plugin available that anyone knows about that would allow me to build a forum that would be linkable from the front page of the site? Or, if you could, provide some good recommendations.
    2. I want to add images of each grave (roughly 220) and I'm thinking of doing those as pdf files which will be linked to a list of burials. The file will contain a photo of the grave, a photo of the occupant (if available) and dates of birth and death. Some of the graves go back to the early 1800s.
    3. I want to add a slide show to the site that would appear in a dignified manner. I have accumulated literally hundreds of old photographs, paintings, and other memorabilia. Any ideas on a suitable plugin.
    This might be too big a request, but, any advice would be greatly appreciated. If anyone would like to see what I have done so far, please send me a private note and I will direct you to the site. It's part of another site at the moment and is far from completion, so some of the links are just there for looks.
    OG
  2. KD-did

Message Count:
  3. Just Bill

Message Count:
  4. OldenGray

Message Count: