I want some car related things added

Discussion in 'Raves and Rants' started by DennyW, Dec 4, 2008.

1. DennyW

Message Count:
    I am an old car mechanic, and would like to have some car related things to design in the logos...:image28:
  2. KD-did

Message Count:
    Denny, a great place for free images of cars, trucks, motorcycles and tools are dingbats. Dingbats can be found on font sites. There is at least a dozen auto/transportation fonts available and some aren't even classified as dingbats but are spread between through out all the pages of fonts.
    http://www.dafont.com/theme.php?cat=721
  3. DennyW

Message Count:
  4. KD-did

Message Count:
    They say a picture is worth a thousand words. To give you the basic idea how dingbats work see attachment...Hitting a key on your keyboard will produce an image instead of a letter . You download, unzip and install them to your system font folder. Dingbats behave EXACTLY as fonts do and all the options you can do to text you can do dingbats. Color, use all the built in text effects in TLC, outline etc. The added bonus is that dingbats are like free vector art never an unwanted background to deal with.

To save you time and energy you will find a font viewer/ character map is a must. It will show you if the dingbat used upper and lower case, just lower case or just upper case. For a PC you can't beat The Font Thing and it is free and available at http://members.ozemail.com.au/~scef/tft.html

It works with XP even though it doesn't say so
  5. DennyW

Message Count:
    Thanks KD, I'm working with this right now figuring it out. Thanks very much for the help. :image28:
  6. DennyW

Message Count:
    KD, please don't think me to dumb on this, but, I downloaded the fonts. Downloaded the viewer, which is a nice setup. But, how do I get a font into my logo design ? :image10-1: I feel dumb at this point.
  7. KD-did

Message Count:
  8. DennyW

Message Count: