Contract vs. MOU

Discussion in 'Contracts and other Legal issues' started by OldenGray, Mar 25, 2008.

1. OldenGray

Message Count:
    The question most often asked by a new client is "what is it going to cost me?" That's where you need to step up and be ready to list all the variables such as: your hourly rate or an estimated rate for the job; materials; travel expenses, subcontracted work, etc. It's always a good idea to have some idea beforehand what you are planning to charge the prospect and he needs to know the costs as well as any so-called "hidden" costs upfront.

You could get a lawyer to draft you a contract with all the proper clauses; however, in most cases a Memorandum of Understanding (especially in the case of small, one-time jobs where big money is not involved) might suffice rather than a full-blown contract; but, in any event, I am not a lawyer and if you plan on doing any long-term work for a client, you should get legal advice and a proper contract.

A type of contract, which I use, and which is probably best for most one-time design work, is called a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) also known as a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). These titles are interchangeable and the use of the term “Agreement” or “Understanding” has no legal significance. Often, you, or your client, will submit an MOA that is, in essence, only the statement of work. The best use of this document is to modify it to serve as the statement of work for the more formal contract document if you decide to go that route.

Using an MOA seems to be an attractive option for most graphic design work because it is straight-forward and simple without the complicating and quarrelsome standard terms, and conditions and all the legal whereas and wherefores and party of the first part, etc.